A Trip to Stonehenge and Bath

I joined the Travel Society on a very exciting trip to Stonehenge and Bath!! It was a very long bus drive to both of these locations, but in the end it was worth it! I sat beside a girl named Ilonka for most of the bus rides, she is from The Netherlands and she was very nice! I wandered around either with her or with another friend of mine, Marta, who is from Spain.

Stonehenge was a very humbling spot. It just had a presence to it that urged respect. I really liked how crows had made the spot their own, hiding within the stones. Also, there wasn’t that much else to see around the stones to distract you. Other than sheep. Lots and lots of sheep!

Image

But you guys don’t want to see sheep, you want to see Stonehenge!! I took a lot of photos, so I’ll do my best to narrow it down to my favourites!

Image

First impressions, rather dark and crowded looking.

Image

We were rather lucky and it didn’t really rain on us while we were at Stonehenge!

Image

Image

A friend took this photo for me!

Image

Image

I was so pleased to catch this guy perched on top of one of the stones! That particular lump that he is perched on was supposed to help keep the lintel stones on top. It is rather impressive that they could get the large stones up there in the first place!!

Image

Other angle of Stonehenge

Image

Had to take a photo of this cloud. Couldn’t resist

Image

Image

I forget exactly what this stone is called, but it is also part of the huge main complex that takes up the henge!!

Image

Last photo of Stonehenge!!

Now for photos from the second half of the trip. Bath!!

I didn’t take as many photos as I would have liked, because halfway through my camera ran out of batteries! But I was happy with some of the photos that I ended up taking.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

I really liked how the Cathedral was right beside the Roman Baths in this square.

Image

I don’t know if you can notice, but there is a carved angle climbing up a ladder towards heaven on the far right!! Both sides of the facade of the church have the ladder carved onto it. I have some photos, but they are sideways at the moment. So I might upload them later!!

Image

This is inside of the Roman Baths. As you can see, it had begun to rain outside while we were waiting. I still actually have a bit of a cold because of it!!

Image

Some photos of the actual baths!! The water is green like that because it has been exposed to natural sunlight for so long that it grew algae. During the times that it would be used by the Romans, there would have been a huge arched roof covering the entire complex!! So the water would have been a lot clearer than it is now.

Image

It’s hard to tell from these photos, but there is still warm vapour rising from the bath water! A lot of people seemed rather surprised by this!

Image

The Gorgon’s head was probably one of my favourite parts from the Roman Baths.

Image

The Gorgon’s head is a bit of a mystery. Because despite being called a Gorgon, due to the snakes weaved in its hair, it is clearly a man, and has a more Celtic design compared to usual Roman sculptural carving. Some theories are that since the Bath was dedicated not only to Minerva, but also Neptune, that the figure could be him. Another theory is that since the sculptors and builders for this temple would have more than likely been Celtic men under the control of Romans, that they incorporated their own visual art to the temple’s design. The Romans were pretty chill with that kind of thing for the most part. They had to be, since this figure would have been at the very front of either the Bath, or the Temple that would have been right next to it!!

Image

A little carved owl at the corner of The Gorgon’s head. The owl was a common symbol to represent Minerva (or Athena as she is known in Greek Mythology).

Image

Can you guess what this is?

Image

I know there is a bit of a glare, but I hope that you can tell that the sculpture was that of a Boar!
Image

A portrait of a Roman Lady. I think that her hairstyle was most popular during the Flavian period. I remember this vaguely from my Roman Archeology and Art History class.

Image

Another angle to help give a better understanding of how her hairstyle worked!

Image

Anyone who knows me, knows that I find keys really neat so I just had to take photos of these!!

Image

These are Celtic figures that were carved. I believe that they are goddesses or some other sort of spiritual female figure? I wish I took a photo of the info that was underneath. I really liked the carving and I had to take a photo of it!!

Image

A bronze bust of Minerva.

Image

A bit of a peek outside at the Baths!

Image

Example of mosaic found.

DSCF3429

 

Example of a beautiful celtic brooch.

DSCF3430

A rather creepy but interesting interior of the Baths

DSCF3448

 

Scene from outside of Baths. Unfortunately this was where my camera’s battery began to die. So I had to save my camera’s power for some other parts of the trip!

Unfortunately. My friend Marta, her own friend, and myself were left behind from the main group. I was very sad because of this!!

However, Marta decided that instead of trying to catch up to the group, we would spend the rest of the trip in Bath in a spot that she was dying to go to!

DSCF3455

 

The Jane Austin centre!! It was really fun. Unfortunately, it was here that my camera chose to die on me. So Marta has all the photos of what we had done while inside the Centre. Hopefully she will give me a copy of the photos soon because some of them are very sweet!

Okay. I think this is a good way to wrap up the trip. All in all it was fantastic fun and I can’t wait to go again!!

The next trips that the Travel Society have planned are to go to Oxford, and the Cambridge. I look forward to hearing more about these two trips and hope to go on them!!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Trip to Stonehenge and Bath

  1. Pingback: Study Abroad Travel: Stonehenge & Bath - infinite

Leave a Reply

